Charlotte Skirt

I’ve finally got photos taken of my wonderful Charlotte Skirt! I bought the Skirt Kit while I was teaching because I didn’t have a lot of time and I really wanted to get started on a project. Then it turned out that I actually had no time, because teaching is a thing to do if you suddenly think you never want to do any of your hobbies, sleep a whole night, or see any of your friends and family ever again. (I’m joking, and I mean no disrespect to the teaching profession, but seriously: No. Time).

Anyway, bought the kit. Stared at it longingly for months. Finally, made it.

2 - Tartan Charlotte Skirt  (2 of 8)

I’m really happy with it, actually. It was easy to sew, and the instructions were really clear. I didn’t alter the pattern at all because I wouldn’t know where to start, but I think it works well on me as-is. It’s not very neat on the insides (at least around the  zip, and I did something of a hack job on the hem) but all seams bar centre back are Frenched (I don’t have an overlocker but I like doing French seams even if they are time-consuming!).

I had some trouble with the invisible zip – it’s a bit hard to visualise and I had to unpick and restart twice – but the instructions again were pretty clear, I’m just a beginner sewist who can’t tell her lefts and rights! I also googled some tutorials for it (I’m sorry, I didn’t save links). The one thing I did learn is that while the instructions tell you to use the invisible zipper foot while doing them, if you don’t have an invisible zipper foot, a normal zipper foot will also work. It’s harder to get the zip truly invisible though. Some fantastic people can do it, and as for me, well, it’s not invisible, but I can live with and work on that!

2 - Tartan Charlotte Skirt  (7 of 8)

I was proud of my hemming which I did by hand, it’s very nearly invisible from the outside. The waistband though I really didn’t do a good job of! Some lessons very definitely learned about how to attach a waistband, and subsequent hook and eye placement!

2 - Tartan Charlotte Skirt  (1 of 8)

Overall though I’m very happy with my skirt. I love it styled like this for every day (though I would love to pair it with a leather jacket, which in my case I have not got) but I also have worn it to work and it goes with a variety of blouses, and with the right shoes and top would make a good going out/pub outfit as well (if I was the type to go to the pub ‘dressed up’, or if indeed there was anywhere even half-worth going to in Seaside Town other than pubs). It’s close-fitting, and very pegged (i.e. it tapers in a lot to the knees, so not much range of movement), so if I were to make a longer version it would have to have a split or a kick pleat in the back because I take such big steps and I walk a lot. I’m not really impractical enough for fashion!

Anyway, there you have it – one Charlotte Skirt! Already planning a few more, but I’ve got other projects I want to make first…!

2 - Tartan Charlotte Skirt  (6 of 8)

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Charlotte Skirt

  1. Are the images broken or is it just me? I would very much like to see the skirt! Do we get a life-related update soon, too?

    • I don’t know why the pictures aren’t showing up :/ I’ll look into it though! Life-related updates-wise I don’t know – not much is really happening but I’ll see what I can do!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. Jenny

    I tried logging out and looking at the pictures and they do still appear for me, so I don’t know why they’re not working. Does anyone else have this problem?

  3. It’s a permissions issue. Is that S’ wordpress that the files are stored on?

  4. Yay pictures! Although they are massive and I imagine even massiver, data-wise, in their full glory so I can understand wordpress not liking them so much. Nice skirt, I like the colours (and the craftmanship, obviously) 😀

Leave a comment