My Genes are Apparently a Bit of a Fail

I myself am a bit of a fail, because I don’t know how to embed videos, and it’s too late at night for me to bother thinking about trying.

What I will instead do is tell you that you simply must click this link here. It’ll take you to Martin’s blog, where there is a video, which I think you absolutely and utterly ought to watch, because there is a man on it with a fantastic beard saying all the things I always want to say to people, and far better than I have ever managed to say them myself.

As Martin warns you, the video is an nearly an hour long. Please don’t let that put you off, though. It’s compelling, comprehensive, comprehensible, witty, and charming. I clicked on it simply to see what it was all about, planning on coming back to it tomorrow, earlier in the day, something to watch over supper if no-one’s around to eat with. Fifty-two minutes later I looked up and realised it was gone midnight and my ‘quick glance’ idea had completely failed. It’s a lecture, done without notes, powerpoint, simply a guy and his whiteboard, talking – so I’m not asking you to sit down and do nothing else for an hour, you don’t have to glue your eyes to the screen if you don’t want. I knitted, because it’s last thing at night and that’s what I do when I’m in for the night; but as long as you listen, you can do anything. Paint your ceiling, do some yoga, shampoo the cat. I don’t mind. Just listen.

Inevitable Disclaimer: For any of you who got here through Facebook and are new to this blog and perhaps don’t know me quite so well, yes, that’s right. I have been depressed – or, to use the proper terminology, had one or more episodes of major depression. I have also been well now for almost eighteen months, and for assorted reasons I really don’t foresee it happening again.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Genes are Apparently a Bit of a Fail

  1. For future reference re embedding, if you look on the page for a YouTube clip, there’s a little “embed” button below the video. That lets you customise it if you like, then you just copy the code and paste into wordpress (in HTML view).

    I dunno what it’s like on the WP hosted sites, but on my WP setup I have to select “use old embed code” on YouTube. Also, what I tend to do is in WYSIWYG mode before going to HTML view, leave a paragraph where I want the video to go, and just write something (a word or something) on that paragraph so that it keeps the formatting. Otherwise when you go to HTML mode, it gets rid of blank paragraphs.

    Hope that makes sense!

    ANYWAY! Not watched the video you linked to yet, but I will at some point.

  2. Jenny

    I think that all makes sense, yes :). Although I think there is also a specific video-embedding tool which I tried once and had no luck with. I’ll have to try it out some day; I’ll try and post some random YouTube gem at some point to cheer us all up…!

    And yes, please do watch it.

  3. Thanks for the reminder – I’ve been meaning to watch this for ages…

  4. Lucy

    I shall watch it when I feel up to it. This may not be for a while. From the title of your post I think I can guess the gist, though, and as you say on Martin’s post, well, preaching to the converted.

Leave a Reply

