Fifteen Books

A friend posted this as a facebook meme a while back and I thought it was an interesting exercise, namely:

Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes. Tag fifteen friends, including me, because I’m interested in seeing what books my friends choose. (To do this, go to your Notes tab on your profile page, paste rules in a new note, cast your fifteen picks, and tag people in the note.) Quickly, and in no particular order…

  1. The Blind Assassin – Margaret Atwood
  2. The Poisonwood Bible – Barbara Kingsolver
  3. To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  4. When The Wind Blows – Raymond Briggs
  5. Crow – Ted Hughes
  6. The His Dark Materials trilogy – Philip Pullman
  7. Franny And Zooey – J.D. Salinger
  8. Feed My Dear Dogs – Emma Richler
  9. Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
  10. Coram Boy – Jamila Gavin
  11. The Steep Approach To Garbadale – Iain Banks
  12. Midnight Blue – Pauline Fisk
  13. Summer Moonshine – P.G. Wodehouse
  14. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  15. Wreck of the Zanzibar – Michael Morpurgo

It’s no surprise that a lot of these are books I read as a child or teenager – I think it’s true that the things that influence you most are the things you come across when you’re growing up. There’s no reason why these particular books have stuck with me – it’s not as if any of them taught me a lot about the world or my place in it, it’s more that something about all of these books just caught something in my imagination and haunted me, slightly. There are so many more I could list, but here, in no particular order, are the first fifteen that occurred to me.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fifteen Books

  1. ‘Coram Boy’ is one of my favourite teenage books, and always will be, I think 🙂

    I shall have to think about what mine would be…

Leave a Reply

