Two For Joy

Going on a walk with my parents this weekend, we realised, collectively, that we were doing a similar walk about this time last year. And that it was a brilliant way, then and now, to celebrate everything that fell into place in the few days prior to that first walk.

I have made so much progress in the last year, especially in the first few months of that year. I’m still amazed, sometimes, by how far I’ve come, and it still feels so beautifully new, and I can’t help but thank God for all the things that fell into place that allowed me to make these changes and learn these lessons and, finally, love everything about my life.

I mean, yes, I’d probably love my life more if I had a lovely boyfriend and a lot more money and a really fast car, but on the other hand, I’m about to go and make broccoli cupcakes, and the sun is shining, and I’m enjoying my degree and my life and my job and my house and I can stand up and take anything and everything that happens.

Happy Anniversary. Here’s to many happy returns.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Two For Joy

  1. Keep it up.

    It’ll happen. There’ll be a guy out there somewhere – you’re in the “ready state” for a relationship with the requisite self confidence etc so it’s only a matter of time.

    I can’t promise, of course, that you’ll end up super rich or have a fast car.

  2. Mia

    I can’t possibly tell you what the future holds for you or anybody else, but I feel it apropos to share the following, said by someone infinitely smarter than myself (and, unfortunately, dead):

    “Happiness is like a butterfly: the more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder.”
    Henry David Thoreau

    Here’s hoping the whole boyfriend thing works the same way… πŸ˜‰

    xxx

  3. Adam

    Broccoli cupcakes?!? What kind of madness is this?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    However – in my experience, what Mia has said above is entirely true – the best things in life come along when you’re not expecting them – and it does apply to fine-upstanding-gentlemen, or in my case lovely-young-ladies.

  4. Flix

    I am looking forward to cheesy cupcake pictures.

    πŸ˜€

  5. Clare

    I care very little about the rest of this post, obviously, but I have one thing to say:

    BROCCOLI CUPCAKES???

    [And of course I care, really. I’m just disturbed by your culinary deviance…]

    Cxxx

  6. Dave

    I wanted to say something profound but alas, I must respond in the same manner as Adam and Clare; what on earth are you on about when you say you’re making broccoli cupcakes?! i must hold you in my prayers if it’s come to this πŸ˜‰

  7. I missed the broccoli cupcakes entirely on first reading this so I feel the need to join in with everybody else now I’ve read it.

    WHAT?

  8. My sister has the recipe for a GORGEOUS courgette cake, though brocolli cupcakes do beat that on textural unconventiality, I do give you that.

  9. teacherface

    πŸ™‚

  10. teacherface

    All I can do is but smile. Go Jenny πŸ™‚

  11. Clare

    I can deal with courgette cake, but brocolli cupcakes defeat me. It’s the tree-y ness of them…

    Cxxx

  12. Flix

    @Lucy: Is the courgette cake sweet, like carrot cake? I think I’ve heard of something like it before.

    I’ve pondered on why there doesn’t seem to exist the vegetable equivalent of fish cakes, but I suppose they are just known as something else, like vegetable burgers or something. Or maybe vegetable cakes as breaded-potato-vegetable patty type thing does exist as a description and I’ve just never come across it. Hmm.

  13. @Flix: The courgette cake is sweet, yes. Also, you do get veggie burgers! And nut cutlets, and bean burgers, and all sorts of yummy vegetarian goodness if you look in the appropriate freezer cupboard at a supermarket. I particularly liked the crunchy-coated vegetable-and-potato-mashy ‘sausages’ that they used to serve up for vegetarians at college brunch when I lived in.

  14. Flix

    Well, yes. But are they ever referred to as cabbage cakes?

  15. Flix

    Ha, and I miss Lucy’s comment by a few minutes. I suppose I was unclear – I am aware that such items exist, I ponder only on the terminology – why fish cakes and not [vegetable] cakes!?

Leave a Reply

