Funny Woman

Right, guys, I don’t get this.

In real life I’m frankly ridiculous. Most of the time I don’t process or edit my thoughts before I say whatever it is I’m thinking and so I just spout total garbage and most of the time people laugh and I really can’t tell if it’s at or with me any more and anyway I don’t know if I mind either way because I know just how ridiculous I am. Seriously, I say things like ‘ooh, you’ve got peas on your toes’ when I mean ‘I like your nice [green] nail-varnish’.

And then I write this blog, and 99% of the time I’m genuinely being serious and trying to think about a thing, and the truth is I’m about as informed as your average cat because, heck, my cat watches the 10’o’clock news every night, and Newsnight, and most of the time so do I but I don’t suppose either me or my cat could tell you anything about what’s just been told to us the moment the music starts rolling. I swear I mainly watch the news so I get to watch one of the weathermen, who I massively fancy but whose name I’ve forgotten.

I’m not going to claim I’m better at being funny, because it’s not as if I set out to make people laugh when I say ludicrous things about legumes and toes, but I’m, well, less worse at being funny than I am at being serious.

So basically this blog spends most of its time being an extended exercise in well-constructed BS, with extra added mopery. And yet I have little inclination to stop writing, at least, not right away.

Also I’ve just noticed that my housemate has planted salad matter in our windowboxes (I think). This makes me very happy. There are also herbs on the windowsill – and they’re germinating!

Now I’m just rambling, failing at being either funny or serious. Excellent.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Funny Woman

  1. Cal

    Is it Thomas Schafernacker that you fancy? He has an excellent name. That I’m fairly sure I’ve spelled wrong.

  2. This is a good thing! Do not think otherwise. The unexpected will startle those present into giving the comment more thought. Another Blogger pointed out how a simple question becomes a meaningless semi-greeting that doesn’t even require an answer.
    The alternative delivery of the example given means the “WTF?” moment engages someone who might dismiss the compliment the way so many people do.
    It also just makes you more interesting, even if it is via laughter (is it at me, is it with me, amiajoketoyoudammit?!)

    “So basically this blog spends most of its time being an extended exercise in well-constructed BS, with extra added mopery.”
    Try finding a decent non-niche blog that ISN’T! Good luck with that.

    What you might not realise is that your BS and mopery is particularly well-constructed, it comes across as very sensibly-delivered ridiculousness that means we can laugh with or at you as is required of us. You’re an eloquent weirdo.

    And, anyway, the alternative to being ridiculous is what?
    Being, like… normal?
    Yeah, YAWN!

  3. teacherface

    Michael Fish.

  4. I’d just like to say @phill I absolutely love that blog post you linked to in your comment

  5. Jenny

    I found him! His name is Rob McElwee and I just basically love him and also look there’s a whole load of pictures of him being funny here :).

    Haven’t read your link yet but am EATING SOUP NOW.

  6. Jenny

    I found him! His name is Rob McElwee and I just basically love him and also look there’s a whole load of pictures of him being funny here :).

    Haven’t read your link yet but am EATING SOUP NOW.

    Oh, and I’m definitely going to have to look up this Schafernaker guy. Just for his name.

    Seriously, soup.

Leave a Reply

