What I Like About The Future

I have no idea what’s going to happen. I have no idea, either, what I’m going to want, and whether what I want this time next year is going to be the same as what I want now or somehow entirely different. And so it doesn’t matter that I don’t know what’s going to happen, because I also don’t know how I’m going to feel about it, so I basically have to assume that whatever it is it’ll be fine; because even if you could tell me what’s going to happen, how I feel about it now and how I will actually feel about it could well be two entirely different things.

So actually, yes, it’s all OK. Even though sometimes I would like someone to drop out of the sky and whisper in my ear, tell me about my future, promise me it contains Nobel prizes and a real-life Daniel Craig/Mr Darcy hybrid and a car that drives like an Aston and runs on solar power or the breath of fairies or something. It’s not going to happen (the sky person thing, I mean, not the Aston thing, that’s a definite). I don’t know what’s around the corner and, if I’m honest, I’d rather not find out too soon. It’s like reading the last page of the novel when you’re still only just getting up to the dramatic bit. You really don’t want to spoil the ending or know about twists in the tail, they’ll surprise you soon enough.

1 Comment

Filed under Beginnings, Endings, Family, Friendship, Happenings, Introspection, Life, Relationships, Religion, Society, Thoughts, World

One response to “What I Like About The Future

  1. Adam

    I have an old songwriting book… Full of inspirational quotes, diagrams and random scribbles – to try an inspire some lyrics… Here’s two pertaing to the future:

    Abraham Lincoln – “The best thing about the future is that it comes only one day at a time.”

    Jean-Marie Guyau – “Le futur n’est pas ce qui vient vers nous, mais ce vers quoi nous allons” which means “The future is not what is coming at us, but what we are headed for”

Leave a Reply

