Vote For Policies?

Since you’re all so fired up about the election you might like Vote For Policies. It’s a questionnaire where you select the policy sets that most appeal to you on as many as nine key issues (you don’t have to answer for all) and then at the end you get to see which parties you agreed with most and which least, broken down literally policy area by policy area.

For example, although I was mainly roughly where I expected, I selected the UKIP Education policy set in the Education bit…! You don’t get told when you see each policy set which one is from which party, which is good, otherwise I would never have clicked on that particular policy probably merely based on the fact that it was UKIP. If you’re more savvy than me then if I were you do your best to not think about ‘I wonder if this policy is this party’ the entire time because you’ll only think, ‘ooh, this has to be Labour [or whatever] so I’ll click on that’ when actually if you went in blind as it were you might actually have preferred the Green Party’s views on whatever-it-was.

Anyway. Certainly interesting.

11 Comments

Filed under Happenings, Internet, Life, World

11 responses to “Vote For Policies?

  1. I tried that, and it was indeed very interesting. I chose Labour, Tory, Lib Dem and UKIP. A hung parliament perhaps?

  2. Oh fail! I got 11% BNP!

    But mainly Lib Dem…hmm. This is odd.

    xxx

  3. Jenny

    What did you pick BNP on?! You’re a terrible person πŸ˜› xxx

  4. Education lol. And I got UKIP on crime.

    But I got about 55% Lib Dem.

    My poor Tory brain is so confused.

    xxx

  5. To be honest, reading all the policies made my face hurt so there was a fair bit of seeing one point I agree with and clicking. Because, in retrospect, I don’t agree with most of the BNP points on education!

    I shouldn’t be allowed to vote.

  6. 50:50 split UKIP/Tory.

    Sigh. How boring.

    I’m so voting for the monster-raving-loony-party! http://www.loonyparty.com/index.php?page=manifestoproposals-1

    It contains gems such as:

    Needles
    Due to the increasing number of children afraid of needles, I propose the destruction of the tedious, scary and often painful process of school vaccinations.
    Instead, I propose that highly trained nurses should be given free reign on the playground with specially modified tranquillizer rifles which apply vaccinations as well as a tranquillizer. This would have two main benefits: It would be less scary for the children as they will not know what hit them, also it will be more fun for the nurses

    GCSE Lottery
    It is proposed that, before the beginning of exams, the exam board will select a certain obscure phrase which will be kept secret. If any pupil inadvertently writes this phrase in any exam,he/she will automaticaly receive straight A* grades, and a free teddy.

    One Sided Policy
    It is proposed that The European Union end its discrimination by creating a “Court of Human Lefts” because their present policy is one_sided.

    Prison Food
    The problems of prison overcrowding and increased crime will be solved easily by issuing a compulsory contract on McDonalds to do all prison catering. Convervative estimates suggest a 50% reduction in crime rates within 2 years with 0% re-offender figures.

    Political Colours
    All politicians should paint them self’s permantly head to toe in the colour of the party they represent – e.g. all Labour candidates in Red , all Conservatives in Blue ,etc,etc

    No fly Zone
    It is proposed to declare the Channel Tunnel a No Fly Zone.

    Man, this stuff is brilliant!

  7. Heh, Lib Dem on all but immigration.

  8. Jenny

    hehe I know what you mean. It did take me a while but I did it whilst working. I ended up practically procrastinating from Vote For Policies by doing work…! But it was a useful exercise.

    I came out a third green and a third labour. Have I said that before? That struck me as odd. But also about right. Now I need to go and read my manifestoes and see if that changes my mind… .

    What were you on immigration, Dickie?

    xxx

  9. Jenny

    Sorry, Antony, Akismet thought you were spam.

    MRLP = hilarious.

    And…UKIP/Tory? I really would never have guessed. I’ve rarely met people our age with right-wing views. It’s a weird experience. When I was about sixteen I would regularly get all table-thumpy and het up and hilarious. But not now.

    Why do you believe what you believe? And what do you believe?

    xxx

  10. @Jenny: Green. Although even their policy was only the least-worst one there.

    To be fair, for most of them I could tell which policy belonged to which party (or at least have a fair guess). Did try to ignore that though, so I didn’t just pick a certain party on purpose.

  11. Adam

    Lib Dem mainly, but Green on one issue (I forget which one)

    More or less exactly what I expected, and hoped!!

Leave a Reply

