Dear Randall Monroe Please Marry Me KThxBai.

I’m sure there’s something I’m missing, because I know almost nothing about circuit boards (I know what some of the symbols mean from GCSE Science and Tech and stuff but, you know, there’s a lot more to learn which I don’t expect, sadly, that I will ever know). So chances are I’d find this a lot funnier and more satisfying if I knew a bit more. But as it is, it’s very funny, in that kind of makes-you-grin-and-suddenly-the-world-seems-like-a-better-place kind of a way. Which is exactly what you need at quarter past ten when you’ve got a thumping headache and your legs hurt and you’re a million miles behind on the things you need to get done and you’re pretty sure you got no sleep whatsoever and frankly you feel a bit delirious and for some reason you’re holding a dinner party tonight and weirdly enough stressful as that will probably be it’s the thing that’s getting you through to the end of the day.

God why am I such a grumpy old man at the moment?

Ten Good Things:

  1. The sun is shining and it’s a beautiful day.
  2. Radio 3 is playing a pretty damn good selection of music for this time of day.
  3. I have a job I actually kind of enjoy and switching to doing it onscreen isn’t half as bad as I thought it would be.
  4. Lots of plans are all shaping up rather fantastically and it looks like I might actually be left with some choices which was not something I expected.
  5. I haven’t actually run my way through my entire student loan yet. I haven’t even tried. I’m growing up, see?
  6. Dinner and pub quiz later :). Look! I have a social life! Not just a billion commitments and societies. Win.
  7. Not only have I got my house sorted for next year, it’s starting to look like my house for the year after will be sorted too.
  8. Yesterday I weighed myself for the first time in several months and without having even thought about it one way or the other I am actually about my ideal weight at the moment. I love being twenty sometimes…!
  9. Erm. Ooh! Choir concert next week. I don’t think it’ll be the best ever but it will be shockingly good fun because, well, Bach, Stravinsky, Ligeti, Xenakis. And I’m in the Xenakis! Seriously, guys, win.
  10. There is such a thing as XKCD in the world. Huzzah.
9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Dear Randall Monroe Please Marry Me KThxBai.

  1. Jenny

    P.S. Image is a link to the original image on XKCD which is also quite a bit bigger and more legible!

  2. Photolosopher

    11. The word ‘huzzah’ πŸ™‚ xxx

  3. Jenny

    πŸ˜€ thank you πŸ™‚ xxx

  4. PUB QUIZ! We came second at one last night. The winners were postgrads. We’ll get ’em next week…

  5. Jenny

    EXCELLENT πŸ™‚ xxx

  6. You’d make a rubbish grumpy old man. You talk too much. Grumpy old mannism is like being a teenage male. Communication MUST degenerate into mumbling. Without fail. The first few words can be coherent (unlike a teenage male) but the rest must not be. The phrases “back in my day”, “in my day”, “we didn’t have” or “during the war” must be present.

    Ergo, sorry, you’re not a grumpy old man.

  7. Jenny

    Grumpy Old Woman, then? Is that what I am? They’re more voluble, aren’t they?

    xxx

  8. Flix

    Whiny teenager? πŸ˜‰

  9. Jenny

    Nope, definitely not… πŸ˜› (I’m TWENTY don’t you know *tantrum*)

    xxx

Leave a Reply

