Long-Awaited Photo Blog

Because you’re all that excited, of course. Have a lot of photos of my feet, my shoes, my insoles, and the combination of all three, so you can see why I need really sensible shoes.

These are the shoes, on my feet.

These are the shoes, not on my feet. I know, I know, they’re really not that exciting. I like them, but then I’m weird and like pub carpets and Xenakis and sherry so what would I know, but more importantly they are good for my feet, and with my feet that’s important because I have to wear…

…these orthoses most days in most shoes otherwise I end up in a reasonable quantity of pain because my feet pronate. Furthermore whereas quite a lot of people are meant to wear insoles like these as provided by your very own NHS podiatrist, most of those orthoses are a pretty standard make and fit – they mould them a bit to your feet, but apparently mine because my feet pronate more than most have to be custom-made from scratch. The good thing about going to the podiatrist is that when you’re fitted for new insoles they make lasts of your feet using strips of plaster of paris which they soak in warm water and then wrap around your feet and it feels lovely.

I tried to take some photos of how my feet should be and how they actually are without the insoles but I’m not sure how well you can tell but I shall upload them anyway. Prepare for feet (surely not the most attractive of things at the best of times, but from this angle and wearing skintights….yum, basically. Or not).

Right. It’s kind of hard to tell (but believe me it’s even harder to try and balance whilst taking pictures of your feet and pretending you’re standing up and not bent double and anyway you’re taking the bloody photos with an iPhone, honestly, the things I do in the name of this blog…) but basically in the first photo you can see that my feet have rolled in so that basically my ankle and the body of my leg has essentially got its centre of gravity over to the inside of my feet if not out over thin air, and my arch has basically collapsed. If I concentrate I can roll my feet up as in the second photo so that my arch is more pronounced and the centre of gravity of my legs, if you like, is plum square above my feet, as it should be. If I don’t wear my insoles my knees get twisted and painful and then my hips and then my back and you really don’t want to meet me when that is the case.

Obviously wearing those orthoses in most shoes makes them fit differently and that’s why I end up with calluses and corns from wearing shoes that most other people would find perfectly comfortable. Oh, and I’m apparently going to get bunions when I’m older.

So to all those of you still half-growling about pretty shoes, heels, feminism, patronisation, fashion naziism and all the rest of it, there you go. My new shoes take my insoles comfortably, support my arches a bit more than most shoes, and personally, I like them. And for all those of you who don’t have to worry so much about the fit of a shoe, I salute and envy you.

Gone are the days of ‘if I wear a different pair of shoes each day I’m going to hurt different bits of my feet each day and that’ll make the whole thing slightly less bad’ – from now on I’m going to stick to shoes that don’t hurt my feet. And if that means that for the rest of my life I own far fewer pairs of shoes, so be it.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Long-Awaited Photo Blog

  1. Adam

    Your blog has now become a foot fetishist’s dream….

  2. Jenny

    Erm… thanks?!!

  3. Flix

    Yay photos! But, ew..feet. I can’t really tell the difference in the two photos, though…

    Unfortunately, I am not one such person whom you can envy. After various blog/comments from you/Lucy wrt pronation (which, incidentally, I always read as protonation /chemist), a term which I hadn’t really heard of before, I do wonder if I have the opposite problem. That is, I have an unusually high instep, tend to walk on the outside of my feet and I can never upon ever get shoes to fit properly, least of all, heels (not that I would want to wear heels most of the time, anyway, but that’s besides the point) and the muscles in my feet always feel slightly strained. I tend to try not to focus on it and the uncomfortableness becomes less obvious, but I consider sometimes if it could be helped. Clearly, my problem isn’t as pronounced as yours, and it may only be that it’s something just a little off-ordinary, but it’s still damn annoying and could be connected to my knee issues. Hmm.

    But anyway, enough of my own ailments, I enjoy the photos. Or at least, the top two 😛

  4. Jenny

    Could well be connected to your knee issues. Go and talk to your doctor who may well refer you to a podiatrist who could tell you if there’s a problem, what it is, and what could be done about it :). Could well be worth it.

    Yeah it’s more pronouned in ‘real life’ when I’m not bent double over my own feet trying to take photos in poor light with a less-than-great phone camera and in real life you can actually see the degree of movement there actually is between the two poses. It’s enough to give me the excuse to moan like a little old lady, though!

    xxx

  5. Kat

    Flix you could well have supination or high arches and this causes people to walk on the outside of feet, if you have running shoes or trainers take a look at the insole and see if it is worn on the outer edges most or look at the heel when they flat and see if the shoe rolls outwards it will help you decide.

    If you think you have supination I’d do as Jenny suggests and see a Dr because you can have very similar problems as pronators (who are btw more common) with hips knees spine and ankles. You are also more prone to have tendon issues, faciatis or actual fractures if inverse ankle. So worth it!

    I today learnt all about these conditions stood in ortho theatre at work I was a tad bored and read the posters!

    Sorry for such a long post to someone I don’t know saying stuff you probably already knew!

Leave a Reply

