Dancing Your Troubles Away

So I won’t be around for a few days because I will be elsewhere – specifically, as some of you will know, at the Inter Varsity Folk Dance Festival, in Durham, for two days of concerts and ceilidhs and workshops and things, as well as (hopefully) getting the chance to catch up with a lot of people that I know in Durham and (probably) sampling a reasonable quantity of real ale. I’m even going to take my violin. Whether I have the balls to get it out we have yet to see.

Meanwhile a friend just came round for the evening. We improvised (as ever) a very nice tomatoey pasta-y potatoey thing (honestly it worked a lot better than you’d expect) and watched the last episode of Being Human (a little confusing since I’ve only seen the first two episodes of this series) and then spent hours talking. However unhappy this friend may be at the moment it was good, I think for both of us, to realise that it’s OK to feel like this. We’re not alone, it’s not surprising, university is a huge big learning curve for us as human beings, teaching us what we really want from life, and that doesn’t necessarily coincide hugely with the degrees we’re doing, or mean that those degrees themselves will eventually be that much use to us as people in the world. We both can’t wait to leave, in many ways, it’s just a means to an end, but it’s good to feel that it’s OK to feel like this.

And meanwhile here you get the chance to do so many other things. When else will I get the time to go to two different home groups (or what we call “cells”), Bible study, choir, orchestra, life drawing, another choir, church, Photo Soc, yoga, bouldering, swimming, volunteer at Oxfam, and still find the time to keep up with Lark Rise to Candleford? Or, for that matter, contemplate taking up some other hobbies (H and I are seriously considering having a one-off horse-riding lesson at the stables down the road)? The world is given to you on a plate, but no-one should be given the whole world on a plate all at once, not when I want a flat of my own and a job and more of a schedule instead, and, well, different things. This degree – it is just the next part of the conveyor belt. You only realise when you get to GCSEs that you aren’t doing them for themselves but to go on to do A-levels, which, well, ditto, and you then think you’re going to university to learn for the sake of learning but no, it is just another bit of the conveyor belt, and then you’ll start looking for jobs but you’re just a lab monkey and if you accept that you’re happy just to keep on going and that in some ways you make these choices yourself and it is all stuff you want but that doesn’t mean you aren’t constantly using this stage as a means to and end, and if you can accept that, then you will be alright, perhaps. So we say.

Anyway, Durham tomorrow. Friends, dancing, music… I spent half the evening whittling down my dress selection and the rest of the evening gawping at shoes. I am officially excited.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Dancing Your Troubles Away

  1. Flix

    I’m so sad about university ending.

    Dancing through life
    Skimming the surface
    Gliding where turf is smooth
    Life’s more painless
    For the brainless
    Why think too hard?
    When it’s so soothing
    Dancing through life
    No need to tough it
    When you can sluff it off as I do
    Nothing matters
    But knowing nothing matters
    It’s just life
    So keep dancing through…

    Dancing Through Life, Wicked the Musical

    I use rhyming words when I can’t think of much else to say, or all that I do think would be filled with woe and tears.

  2. I maanged to grasp another year at uni…I don’t really want to become a teacher πŸ˜›
    That said, I have only one full week left at uni and whilst it has been on of the toughest things I’ve done I’m going to miss it a whole lot. The people mostly.

    I actually have to be an adult now. Damn.
    Enjoy the festival!

  3. It’s a bit odd that CU call stuff cells, because I can’t think of anyone else that does bar some rather unsavoury people…

  4. Flix

    rather unsavoury people like…biologists?

    Monks and nuns live in cells, also.

  5. Anchoresses used to brick themselves up in “cells” off the end of churches.

    • Jenny

      It’s not CU, it’s my church. I find it a little odd and I do prefer the term ‘home group’, which most churches that run such things seem to use instead.

      I know it does sound potentially terrorist though. Which, you know, it isn’t. I love my cell(s). Xxx

  6. they may have done. But why did they do it?

    Also, bees work in cells. (sort of) and honey is definitely unsavoury, being sweet.

    *sorry. bad pun time.

Leave a Reply

