Parents

It’s funny, I don’t know why I’ve not thought about this before. It suddenly struck me that I can’t at all remember how it felt to relate to my parents, child to adult, and I don’t for the life of me know exactly when that transition happened, though it must have been years ago. It suddenly somehow surprised me, and I have no idea why, that these days I talk to my parents as I would to any other adult, about more or less anything, and there must have been a point where I wasn’t an adult and it was more about telling me what to do, and me telling them things about my day, and communication was definitely not on any kind of a level.

What terrifies me is how my relationship with them might or might not change when they get old and confused. It’s bad enough watching my grandparents age.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

