Jenny

Apparently in my birth year mine was the seventh most common girl’s name. According to Facebook, that is, so I don’t know how accurate that statistic is.

Anyway, I haven’t met that many other Jennies in my life – I’m going to assume that’s the grammatically correct plural of ‘Jenny’ – but whenever I do, it’s weird. It feels like, you have the same name as me so I really ought to like you because you have the same name as me and surely that makes us similar in some way so we should get along, and actually you realise very quickly that there is no reason why another Jenny should be any more like you than any Lucy, Rosie or Hannah, or any more likely to be your new best friend.

It’s a stupid thought to even think, too – it’s like saying, oh, you’re a Leo too? Then we must be similar. Which is ridiculous.

In fact, actually, having anything specific in common with another person doesn’t necessarily mean that there’s a great friendship there. In the case of hobbies or degrees or whatever, a few good conversations maybe. But actually a lot of my closest friends don’t necessarily share many of those basic facts in common with me at all, and even where they do that’s not necessarily what we talk about, almost ever.

And when you think of friend A, and how they would really get on with friend B, can you ever really put your finger on just precisely why you really ought to introduce them to one another, and why, when you do, they just click?

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Friendship, Introspection, Life, Society, Thoughts

6 responses to “Jenny

  1. Adam

    I used to work in a call centre, it’s worse when you are talking to someone with the same surname as you… I’m there thinking all the time “but *I’m* Mr Richards…*

  2. Jenny

    haha yeah I can imagine. That said I’m never hugely likely to meet another Miss Mohan other than my sister, and furthermore it’s difficult to think of myself as Miss Mohan. Are you used to being Mr Richards yet? And also, I keep thinking to myself, should I think of myself as Ms or Miss Mohan? Because the Miss indicates young and unmarried – at my age, fair enough – but also a reduced status as compared to Mr Blah, and Ms obviously is of equal status and also is a way of not disclosing your marital status in the same way that Mr doesn’t tell you if Mr Blah is married to a Mrs Blah, so obviously it’s the Good Little Feminist choice, but then, I don’t know how feminist I can be bothered to be any more, I’ve never really encountered much in the way of misogyny with the exception of my old physics teacher, it’s never stopped me from getting to do the things I’ve wanted to do, and also, Ms sounds older, makes me sound a bit mid-forties, and there’s nothing wrong with that except that I am twenty!!

  3. C R M

    I prefer Ms Mohan, so perhaps to avoid confusion you can take Miss. I believe traditionally the older sister takes Miss and leaves the younger ones with Ms…

    xxx

  4. Adam

    I’m already very used to being Mr RIchards – comes with being old…

    @CRM – I believe up until around about the 1920’s all women of un-married status were generally refered to as Miss… Ms tends not to appear in common usage until the beginning of the Suffragette movement, and the earliest of feminists. For instance, ALL of the Bennett sisters are Miss Bennett, not just Jane…

  5. C R M

    by tradtionally, I meant in recent times. that’s how it’s worked in lots of families of plural girls that I know of…

  6. Jenny

    @CRM: Like who?

    If I decide that way we can both be Ms.

    Obviously the real tradition is that the oldest sister is Miss Bennett, then the next sisters are all Miss Elizabeth Bennett, Miss Katherine Bennett, Miss Mary Bennett and so on, and only addressed as Miss Bennett (if at all) if the oldest (Jane) was not in the same place at all (i.e. I think Lizzie was referred to as Miss Bennett when she was staying with the Collinses and visiting Lady De Bourgh (sp?)?).

Leave a Reply

