Thank You, Lucy

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

“Been in a relationship, and all that goes with that.” – so says Lucy, and the same is true (and significant) for me too.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I think my resolutions last year were fairly similar to my resolutions for this year, and I didn’t actually keep them, but I probably was more organised and got more exercise and so on and so forth than I expected to. I also lost the weight I wanted to lose.

3. Did someone close to you give birth?

Nope…

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thankfully.

5. What countries did you visit?

Wales – that was about it! It was beautiful though.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

Well, a little more money, to be brutally honest! I would like to be consistently well and happy and I think that’s actually a possibility now.

7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Heavens, what a question. I don’t know. 20th June, obviously; 27th August and 12th September for their impact on my university life; 25th July for being the date upon which I gave up smoking.

8. What was your biggest achievement(s) of the year?

Well, you know, I passed six of those modules! Shame about the two I failed.

9. What was your biggest failure(s)?

I’m back in the first year, so there you go. That’s been what’s miffed me most, to be honest!

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No, not really – other than the obvious. But fingers crossed that’s that.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Lots of pretty dresses and things. My shopping life was rather fun, it has to be said.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

A, as ever. P, though not necessarily all the time. My family for finally getting it. My head of year and tutor for their wonderful and understanding attitude.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Hrm. This isn’t a very nice question. But I’ve learnt to confront anyone whose behaviour I wasn’t best pleased with and sort out my own problems. I didn’t always behave wonderfully either and I’m still learning to take actual personal responsibility for that.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Other than rent and food, of course, I’ll go with travel and drinks and clothing and meals out, because, well, I’m interesting like that. But my new theory is that disposable income is probably best spent on having a good time with the people you like, so if all my spare money goes on getting me to places where I can be with people I like, then so be it. Thankfully this means that in term times, I don’t spend too much on non-essentials – I can walk most places I want to get to. S’all good.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
I don’t know – lots of things were pretty exciting. I’m a bit like a small child when it comes to things to look forward to, I get all jumpy and giggly if I’m excited about something, even if it’s as small as meeting up for a good chat over a cup of tea. I’m the kind of person who, when on my own, can be spotted striding down the high street grinning like the cat who got the cream, beaming out at the whole world, because I’m excited or happy.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. Happier or Sadder? Happier. Unequivocably.
ii. Thinner or fatter? Thinner, thank goodness. And furthermore, no longer thinking about it really. I was fat last year though – not entirely sure how, perhaps because I got so very little exercise and when I ate, I ate – but now I’m a decent weight.
iii. Richer or Poorer? Possibly poorer, possibly about the same. Still, poor enough that the difference is immaterial.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

I don’t think anything springs to mind. More work, perhaps. I just always find that time passes too quickly, and so it always seems like you haven’t done quite enough of this or that.


19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Winding myself up. Silly thing. Still, too late now.


20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spent it at my aunt’s with my nearest and dearest and it was lovely.

22. Did you fall in love in 2009?

You already know what I think about love.


23. How many one-night stands?

I didn’t have sex with any total strangers this year (or any year); however I did, I’ll admit, sleep with two friends or acquaintances when I wasn’t in fact in any kind of committed relationship, so, well, two.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Don’t know. All kinds. I’m pretty fickle.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No.

26. What was the best book you read?

I don’t know, many, more, lots. I discovered Ted Hughes and Jeanette Winterson (especially Written on the Body) and you definitely should too.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

“Can I cop out here and say Spotify?” – agreed, Lucy. I discovered a lot of new music and it’s probably best if I just say that I’ve got into a lot of new genres this year and damn glad I am too. Folk, funk, lots of classical stuff I’d barely known about, my life is much the richer for it all, and thank you, you know who you are.

28. What did you want and get?

Erm. I don’t know. Lots of things. Probably. Happiness and stuff. Yeah. I suppose I wanted to stop being single but to be honest I was fine with being single for a while and I’d accepted that, so ‘being in a relationship’ wasn’t something I wanted so much as a UXB (UneXpected Bonus). Not that I’m not happy not to be, far from it.

29. What did you want and not get?

To get into the second year. Fail.

30. Favourite film of this year?

Erm, I don’t know. I didn’t see all that many films to be honest and I can’t remember those I did see…!! I didn’t see many films from this year; I watched all kinds of things, especially stuff with the infamous Daniel Craig in, and I rather liked The Mother, and also Sylvia, but I wouldn’t say they were favourites as such necessarily.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

My birthday? I was 20. A few days before my birthday I went out for a lovely meal with family and attendant boyfriends (that implies I have more than one; I mean we have one each. Not my parents, though, that would be weird). On my birthday, well, the day before, I went to P’s house to meet/see lots of his friends, for chilli and wine and a midnight happy birthday kiss and to be kept awake all night by the grandfather clock. And for my birthday P gave me a ticket to Towersey and I had a wonderful, wonderful time. So, yeah, a good birthday.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I would have been happier for more of it. I had every reason to be happy, I just couldn’t be happy. Think I will be this time round though, which is the first time I’ve been able to say that and believe it for years and years and years.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

It started off a bit mad – my body as no more than a clothes horse for odd shapes and colours and combinations; now I have a lot more confidence in my body so I think I’m finally allowing my naturally good taste to flourish by usually looking quite nice and well put-together and wearing jeans that don’t have holes in. It’s got a bit less grubby; I don’t go for hoodies and sloppy jeans quite so much any more.

34. What kept you sane?
In the end, myself.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Daniel Craig. Obviously.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Climate change, the environment, sustainability, good ethics. It’s all interlinked and we’re in real trouble and no-one seems to have the first clue what can be done on the grander scale to do anything about any of these things.

37. Who do you miss?

I don’t really miss anyone as such. I’m losing touch with some friends but I think that’s mutual and it’s a shame but it’s also the way things go and when I have more time and can travel more easily then maybe I can change that but for now, I’m sorry, and I miss you, but you could make more effort too.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
I met a lot of people this year. P, of course, but then I would say that. He makes me very happy. H and M for being such great friends; and I didn’t meet her this year but I only got to know her this year – my housemate H especially. Everyone else I really value I also already knew.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:
Finally I learnt that I have as much to recommend me as anyone else. I have every reason to have confidence in myself. And I’m not perfect. I think in those two things, as far as I’m concerned, lies the recipe for happiness.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
I have no idea. I don’t really listen to songs for their lyrics any more. It was a good year. Here’s to a better one. And to all a good night.

1 Comment

Filed under Beginnings, Cloudlife, Endings, Family, Friendship, Happenings, Internet, Introspection, Life, Relationships, Religion, Sex, Thoughts

One response to “Thank You, Lucy

  1. Pingback: 2009 In 40 Questions – Rats Saw God

Leave a Reply

