I Am A Real Student Now

Because after M cut her own hair last night, JM, H and I all got a bit crazy about it, so H cut first JM’s hair, then mine, then her own – in the middle of the night, long after I meant to be in bed, in the kitchen, with a local radio station blaring the usual pop and hip hop and H gamely asking things like ‘so who do you want to win the X-factor then, love?’ and ‘you going anywhere nice on holiday this year?’. I’m sorry we’re such terrible snobs, I really am.

Those of you who know me will know that I have pretty much always had pretty long hair, though I’ve wanted it shorter for a while. I am also scared of hairdressers in case they get it wrong, though what i really object to is their need to give me a high fashion cut that will look out of date in three months and is overlayered and overfussy and requires me to do things like blow dry and straighten and use ‘product’. In the mornings, I eat, shower, dress, and go out, pretty much. That is it. That is the limit of my beautifying routine. I am never, ever, ever going to own or use ghd’s or vast quantities of gunk to smear into my scalp, and I do not want a haircut that requires me to do so for it to look good. So I tend to avoid the issue. When H said she was brave enough to do it, I let her, happily, and I am so pleased with the result.

And I promise this time that when I find my camera charger and memory card reader I will put up photos here once they are taken so you can see before and after shots. Anything else of which I promised I’d put up photos? Picture requests in the comments, please!

Leave a comment

Filed under Friendship, Happenings, Life, Relationships, Society, Thoughts, University, Women, Work

Leave a Reply

