Still A Good Feeling

I’m still really enjoying the fact that I no longer need Cloudlife, have no longer anything worthwhile to say on that score. Obviously depression, and public awareness thereof, is still something in which I am deeply concerned, and I hope to do that concern justice at some point. But right now I’m enjoying the break from thinking about all of that.

Meanwhile another friend was asking today why it is that I blog, and to be honest, I don’t know. Because it’s meant I’ve got to communicate with people I would never otherwise have encountered, and have conversations and debates I might not have otherwise had? Because it’s a creative outlet of some kind? I really don’t know, and I can’t justify it, but I don’t think I should have to.

The same friend then went off on one about my left-leaning tendencies being ‘idealistic’ and based on a fundamentally naive belief in the goodness of humanity in general. It isn’t. I’m no Marx. I’m no idealist. I’m just not completely selfish, either; and his arguments were based on ignorance: of my points of view, of the decisions and breakthroughs Labour has made in power, exactly who made the decisions and formulated the theories that got us into this economic mess, and so on and so forth. Prompted by that same friend my next post is probably going to be one in which I wade into feminism once again, and try and work out certain opinions of mine… watch and wait.

Anyway, getting my fists out and thumping that table again was something I haven’t done in too long. Another good feeling, still.

3 Comments

Filed under Friendship, Happenings, Internet, Politics, Relationships, Society, Women

3 responses to “Still A Good Feeling

  1. Lucy

    🙂

    Carry on being idealistic! Because you and I (and others) know what the alternative is.

  2. I’m afraid it’s a case of blatant corruption against striking down the Human Rights Act. Which way will *you* vote?

  3. Flitterbee

    I suppose I initially started to blog for cloudlife-related reasons. And it’s often on those terms I find myself coming back to it, though to a lesser extent than before. It helps to reach out and it helps to let go, I guess.

    Haha, I had one of those heated debate type things recently, too. Only religion based rather than politically focussed. Anything’s better than talking about talking about revision…ugh.

Leave a Reply

