Worth Mentioning

In brief, it is worth mentioning that last Sunday I went to church.

Moreover, I think I can now say I’m religious, or at least a darn sight nearer to agnostic-religious than I previously was. Church was a bizarre experience for me: I ended up crying and smiling all at once, and you know that huge heart-swelling feeling you get about once in a blue moon, to do with being loved, happy, or receiving some really heart-warming news? I could have sworn it would burst. But it didn’t, my heart is still here, and so am I. Anyway. I’m going again tomorrow, I’ve borrowed a Bible from R, and we’ll see…

Now I must get ready to go out. Au revoir!

8 Comments

Filed under Happenings, Introspection

8 responses to “Worth Mentioning

  1. Adam

    I’m glad you found it to be a good, heart-warming experience… and I hope it continues to be; which ever direction you find your new-found agnostic-religous faith taking you…

  2. I hope it provides you with what you want 🙂 I’m a regular to Evensong at the cathedral, and in fact to the Cathedral in general- it’s a very special place for me, and I think I’ll go today.

  3. I love Canterbury Cathedral with all my heart, it is an amazing place to be in. Glad you found it to be such an experience :o)

  4. Fiona

    There’s something wonderful about it, isn’t there? What took you to church in the first place? So pleased for you 🙂

    Incidentally, I’d be interested to know what you make of reading the Bible. Some of the stories are absolute pageturners, honestly, if you have a spare hour try Esther. (Just a personal favourite. I love the idea of the stories being told just by word of mouth to millions of people over the centuries… it’s such an awe-inspiring thought!)

    Fi xx

  5. standingonthebrink

    I went to Church in the first place in Wales (other than assorted Carol services and once or twice with my grandparents) in the summer. I was staying with R for a few days, and I thought I’d go because her whole family goes and, well, to be honest, I wanted a good sing. I was a bit curious, but basically it was all about the singing. Which was great fun.

    I enjoyed myself, and R seemed quite happy for me to come along when I got here; I did think she might think it somehow hypocritical, or at least wrong, for an atheist to go to Church just so she can sing lustily once in a while. Anyway, I made it to Church one evening – last Sunday – and…here we are. It was honestly the most amazing emotional experience. I’ve made light of it here in my blog because I can’t find the words, I honestly can’t, and I don’t want to scare anyone!! I really wanted to thank the vicar for, well, everything, and he ended up praying with me. I felt incredibly naked, raw, exposed; and it was terrifying. But awe-inspiring.

    So far I’ve read part of John – I was told to start with John, read to the end of the New Testament, and THEN go on to the old. Not sure why; but that is what I was told to do. I’ll post what I think of the Bible on my Books page when I’ve read a bit more!!

    Are you religious, Fi? Or indeed any of you? xxx

  6. Mia

    I wasn’t brought up as overly religious, and I generally go to Church, read the Bible and join in the night prayers as a requirement from my College, but the only thing I like about it is the singing. I consider myself Atheist.

    And Fi, I like the story of Esther as well. =)

  7. It’s hard to gauge exactly what you make of it from blogs, but i’m intrigued all the same. It’s interesting to see people take the time to actually think beyond and come up with what they themselves believe and why, rather than simply go with the flow of what they’ve been brought up to agree with.

    Good for you! :oD

  8. Fiona

    Hmm. Yes, I suppose I am quite religious but that sounds a really weird way of putting it! I’ve always gone to church, I reckon Christianity has a lot of it right, and I have a certain fondness for bring and buy sales 🙂 plus more seriously my mum’s C of E and my dad’s agnostic humanist, so as a family we get a lot of debate about the rights and wrongs and probabilities of it all.

    I’m sure the Letters are good to read in terms of teaching, but I always thought they were a bit dry, and they go on a bit. If I were you I’d go straight for the Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 5-7) and see what you make of that.

    Also singing with oomph makes it all worthwhile 🙂

Leave a Reply

